Skip to content

Genessee Royale

October 20, 2011

I went to Genessee Royale with my Mom for lunch today:

Genessee Royale is a small restaurant located in the West Bottoms area of Kansas City, Missouri (aka not a good place to go at certain times of the day, but totally fine for breakfast/lunch time) They turned what used to be an old gas station into this:

and this:

I fell in love with this place before I even ordered my food. I want them to decorate my future house someday. And I probably liked it because many of their decorations seemed to come from Anthropologie (notice those hooks on the ladder? Totally Anthropologie. I’m not obsessed or anything…), a store which I love but can sadly not afford. If only I could live there…

The menu included items that are familiar, with a hint of something new, like the butternut squash soup with brioche croutons we started with.

I need to find a recipe for this stuff–holy yum. It was perfect.

We ordered sandwiches and traded halves for our main course. For me, the farmhouse style grilled cheese with an apple slaw. For my Mom,

(On a side not, doesn’t she look pretty? I think so.)

the slowly cooked Boyle’s corned beef sandwich with aged gruyere, brussels sprouts and hot mustard.

Here’s my plate with half of both sandwiches, apple slaw, and more hot mustard for dipping. The brussels sprouts were actually pretty good, although they would have been better if they were cut smaller. Overall, this meal was a win, and could only get better with…..Dessert!

A chocolate chip walnut cookie that was nice, and then……

The most amazing rum cake ever!!!

And that is saying something, because I usually don’t consider anything without chocolate worthy of being called dessert. Oh my was this good. Perfectly sweet, buttery, and melt in your mouth. Now I’m drooling.

It was so nice to spend time with my mom, catching up, talking about the future, and talking about recipes we have recently tried and what not. I love that about my mom, we can talk food for hours and never get bored.

So, the moral of this post is: If you ever come to Kansas City, which, lets face it, many of you will not because no one really comes here unless they live here or have family that lives here, you need to go to Genessee Royale and get some delicious food. I promise, Kansas City is not in the boonies, there are things to do here (like eat!!!), and we don’t have southern accents. Actually, we have very neutral accents. Ok, most of us.

Just eat here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 1:41 pm

    I’ve never heard of that restaurant! I’ll have to check it out next time I’m home!

  2. October 21, 2011 1:41 pm

    I’ve never heard of that restaurant! I’ll have to check it out next time I’m home!

Leave a Reply

