Skip to content

Chicken Sausage and Spaghetti Squash

August 31, 2011

Happy Wednesday! Where has the week gone already?

After a nice 4 mile run today (I am trying to build my mileage back up so I can do some road races soon!) and some weights involving my arms and back, I was starrrrving. I needed something healthful, but also delicious, and let me tell you, I made something tasty.

Before I give you the low down on dinner, here are some of this week’s eats:

Turkey sandwhich, apple, veggies, luna, greek yogurt (green lid) with mango butter, oats and cashews, and tomato soup (in the blue greek yogurt container)

This was lunch and dinner yesterday. Here’s my smoothie from today:

I used these ingredients to make it:

Minus the ice cubes, plus some unpictured frozen raspberries

This was the first time I used my bag of Sunwarrior protein powder, and I have sort of mixed feelings about it. I have read about it on so many blogs, and seen so many smoothies and bowls of breakfast cookie dough with this stuff in it, and it always looked so good.

I really want to like this protein powder, especially because I paid a pretty penny for it. Sunwarrior is just too chalky for my taste, and the texture is too odd in breakfast cookie dough (which is one of my favorite breakfast/anytime foods.) It did, however, make my mango raspberry smoothie taste, oddly enough, like lucky charms marshmallows! The chalkiness somehow fit the same texture of those little charms, so it was a little easier to eat than the breakfast cookie dough I had this morning.

Lunch was much better. I kept it light since I was going to run afterwards.

Spinach salad with tomato, cucumber, red onion, goat cheese, and home made balsamic vinaigrette; gigantic nectarine, and my mom's rosemary french bread. Yumm.

And now, the recipe I am so proud of:

Sauteed vegetables with chicken sausage and spaghetti squash

It doesn’t look quite as pretty as it tastes here, but this was delicious.

I started out by cutting the spaghetti squash in half and scooping out all of the seeds. I then lined a baking sheet with foil, seasoned the squash with a little salt and crushed red pepper, and then put the seasoned sides face down on the sheet. I cooked it for 50 minutes (I will probably try 45 minutes next time, it was a little too roasted) at 450*.

While the squash was roasting, I chopped up some red and white onion, bell pepper, tomatoes, and chicken sausage. I sauteed the vegetables in olive oil:

Waiting on that spaghetti squash led to some PB and honey snackage...and a really weird face...

I seasoned the vegetables with garlic powder, salt, pepper, oregano, and just enough crushed red pepper to give it some kick. Then I added the chicken sausage.

After a few minutes, it was ready!

When the squash was finished baking, I used a fork to shred it, then put it in the bottom of a bowl as my noodles. I put the veggie/sausage mixture on top, and it was ready to eat. Just spicy enough and full of flavor, this was the perfect dinner.

 

What is your perfect dinner? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    September 1, 2011 12:15 am

    Wow, that recipe looks like it would be very healthy. I really like how you added a twist to the squash spaghetti … I will have to make this for dinner this weekend!!

  2. September 1, 2011 7:07 am

    Looks delicious! I love topping spaghetti squash with all kinds of things!

Leave a Reply

