Skip to content

When it rains…

August 22, 2011

It pours.

It’s been a messy couple of days…….

First, let me tell you that I had every intention of writing a post yesterday, and then this happened:

Well, that’s just a photo from Google Images, but it properly illustrates what happened to my poor Dad late Saturday night. He tried to help someone carry things to their sailboat this weekend (Oh I didn’t tell you, he’s an ornery old sailor. In a land locked state. For real.) by walking down a steep grassy hill. He was wearing a beat-up pair of sandals, and there was a lot of dew on the grass.

Needless to say, my dad slipped and fell, narrowly escaped landing on and subsequently killing a hairless Chinese dog that he was carrying, and broke his ankle. He broke both bones and tore a ligament.

My dad was in surgery today. He had 11 screws placed in his bones, but he made sure to be his ornery old self before and after the procedure. That’s my dad alright.

 

On top of that whole debacle, I had problems of my own today.

My car started to misbehave. I was in line for a stop sign, and when the cars in front of me moved forward, I lightly touched my gas pedal to do the same. Only my car stalled and then went the opposite direction, almost hitting the person behind me. Was my car in reverse, you ask? No. It was in drive. Peculiar….

So I hightailed my defiant car to the shop, where they told me I must have hit something (doesn’t ring a bell), because my transmission fluid was leaking. Hence the car acting like it was in neutral when really it was in drive. Ieeeyieeeyiee.

Now that I have that all off my chest, how about some food and workout stuff? Anybody? Bueller?

Ahh, there we go.

I tried out some Green Monster tips from Katie over at peaceloveandoats, and I can officially say that I have found a way to enjoy this smoothie without tasting the spinach!!

This smoothie in particular was really good. I sliced up one of my peaches from the farmer’s market, added a scoop of vanilla whey protein powder, 1/4 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup spinach, and two ice cubes. I tried starting small with the spinach, to ease myself into the whole idea. It worked. This smoothie tastes like peaches and cream, yumm!

Lunch for the day (packed for the first day of my last year of college!!):

One peaches and cream smoothie (for post-workout fuel), spinach salad with cucumber, bell pepper, tomatoes, turkey, herbed goat cheese, and home made balsamic vinaigrette, whole-wheat pita, hummus, and carrots.

I devoured that food. And my body needed it after the workout I did today.

Since I have access to weight machines again (and I have no clue what I’m doing with free weights), I decided that I want to incorporate 2-3 weights sessions a week into my workouts. I had a good one today that worked on legs, abs, and a little lower back, followed by 20 minutes of cardio on my favorite Cybex machine.

For the weights, I did three sets of 12 reps on 30 pounds for each machine: Leg curl, leg extension, abductor, adductor, glutes, leg press, lower back, rotary torso,  and total abdominal. I could feel the burn and I liked it.

What is your favorite way to do weights? Have you ever broken a bone?

I like the machines (for now), and I broke my right pinky at the growth plate in the fifth grade. Ouch.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 9:18 pm

    I. Almost. Died. when i read your post! I’ve never had anyone link to me before! Haha so thanks for the shout out! I’m glad your smoothie tasted good! Maybe the spinach thing is just something you have to get used to. I’ve also found that sweeter fruits help. If I just have banana and spinach then I can taste the spinach more, but when I add other things, like mango or berries, that really helps cover the spinach.

    So sorry about your dad, I hope he recovers quickly! I’ve never broken a bone in my life! I guess I’m just a cautious (or lucky…) person!

Leave a Reply

