Skip to content

City Market and Hummus

August 20, 2011

I woke up early this morning to go to the City Market, Kansas City’s largest central farmer’s market.  I started the day off with some hazelnut coffee and an english muffin with raspberry jelly, a slice of gouda, and an egg that I nuked in the microwave (inspired by PBFinger’s cheese and jelly bagelwiches).

An apple was also enjoyed on the side. I can’t wait until fall when apples are at their best!!

After my trip here I brought home all of this for less than 30 dollars!

 

 

 

Aren’t those colors just gorgeous? The end of summer is my favorite time for farmer’s market food because it all looks and tastes incredible. I ate one of the peaches after putting everything away, and juice was running down my face and hands like a peachy massacre. Mmmmmm.

I don’t know if you noticed that little bag of whole wheat pita bread in the back of that City Market loot, but I can’t wait to eat it. I bought it at Al Habashi Mart, a little ethnic food store in the market area, and it was still warm on the rack. It inspired me (along with yesterday’s post about saving money by making your own food) to make some fresh hummus. My aunt gave me this recipe a while ago, and I altered it a bit to fit my taste.

Aunt Andie’s Hummus (WILAF Style)

Ingredients:

1 Can garbanzo beans (chickpeas)

1/4 C lemon juice

2 Cloves of garlic (or more to taste)

1/4 C olive oil

2 T tahini

Pinch of salt

Drain and rinse your garbanzo beans and add put them in a blender.

Add in your lemon juice (it tastes best when the juice is fresh).

Next add in olive oil, garlic, tahini, and salt.

Now blend, blend, blend!

If it looks chunky like this, add more olive oil until it reaches a smoother consistency. Or keep it chunky if that’s your style.

Finished product in container with an extra olive oil drizzle:And if (unlike me) you are really patient, you can try using roasted garlic instead of fresh for a more deep bodied flavor, or charring a red bell pepper and blending in the flesh for a smokier taste. Have fun, and be creative!

This stuff is good. Really good. Especially with a squishy, freshly toasted piece of pita bread. Thank you Mr. Al Habashi.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 8:54 pm

    Thanks for the hummus recipe! I bought some stuff to make it this week but was just going to wing it! Haha and I also made a couple PB Fingers inspired egg sandwiches this week

Leave a Reply

