Skip to content

Sunwarrior=Hole in Pocket

August 16, 2011

I did it.

I finally broke down and bought some of this stuff…

Sunwarrior Protein Powder

Vanilla style, even though I definitely am a chocolate gal through and through. Vanilla is more versatile in the smoothie world, I am sad to say.

Note to self…do not look at Open Sky after drinking wine. It will lead to unnecessary purchases of completely awesome but utterly expensive protein powders. Next up from The Fitnessista’s store: Honey Stinger Energy Chews. Yumm.

Why, do you ask, did I shell out the big bucks? Well, my friend, I want to get back into my healthy kick lifestyle. Before my previous semester of college ended this May, I was on a roll. I had discovered food blogs and learned about overnight oats, breakfast cookie dough, and the wonder that is smoothies. I ran almost every day (which, now that I think about it, should have been every other day. Note to self.) I ran my first ever 10K and didn’t finish too shabby. I had muscle definition in my stomach for the first time ever. I finally completed 10 miles in one run, which for some is small potatoes, but for me is a definite accomplishment.

And then came summer…

Time for relaxing, working a lot, and vacations. Not worrying about a thing. Eating more cheese than is truly necessary. And chocolate for that matter. Time for Europe, with its’ endless carbs and fat-laden meats and butters that I would normally never eat so much of but were oh-so-gooooood. But you know what?

I am happy with every croissant, bratwurst, and Bitburger beer I consumed while in Europe. They all were an amazing culinary experience, a way to let go, to truly enjoy what sat on my taste buds and not worry about where they landed on my thighs.

If there was one thing I liked about Germany, it was that the women there didn’t care about a little roll on their tummy. Most of them had curves, and seemed perfectly content with them. No shame there! No shame in eating butter on your bread, dipping fries in mayonnaise, and drinking some beer with dinner. In Europe, I learned that having a woman’s body is beautiful and revered, and that is something to be proud of, not ashamed to have.

But I have had this constant itching. This need to feel a runner’s high, to be proud of how I have treated my body. So I have decided that I want to lie in the middle of two cultures. I want to feel healthy, to get that high and sense of accomplishment that can only be found from a hard workout. I want to feel the energy given by vegetables, fruits, and whole grains. I want to feel full and happy, but I also want to be happy with my body as is. I want to love every curve my body presents, and own it.

And so I will try.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 9:39 pm

    I saw your comment on my blog, but I don’t think I can reply! I actually haven’t been to that crepe place but my friend went there today! He sent me a picture of his crepe to brag! Haha. I’m from KC but currently I live in Chicago for law school. I do miss Kansas City though, I love the restaurant scene here because I feel like I can manage trying everything, whereas in Chicago I feel like I can’t even make a dent! Also, let me know what you think of that protein powder! I keep trying new kinds! And I agree, vanilla is best for smoothies. I usually make smoothies with spinach, almond milk, half a banana and frozen fruit; i’m not sure if chocolate and spinach will mix….

Leave a Reply

